Weird Weather alright!

Oliana Kim, Dec. 15, 2013

Oliana Kim, Dec. 15, 2013

Same street Jan. 6, 2014 Where did all the snow go?

Same street  on Jan. 6, 2014 Where did all the snow go TODAY?

Would you believe this weather?
It rained all the night and this morning

then the sun magically came out later
but it didn’t stay out for very long.
The blustery wind even pushed ME!
the gusts were actually that strong!
Had to walk like an old lady, it was so slippery
I got splashed by cars passing by
Even my face got sprayed, I could cry!
What weather we are having
for this time of year!

So it rained all night and this morning.  I was not too anxious to walk to my bus stop today. What a way to start my first day back after 10 days off. As I was about to leave, the sun came out, so at least I didn’t have to fight with an umbrella blowing inside out with the wind.  As Georgia   says, I dressed like an onion and kept another sweater in my backpack for my late return tonight.  The sidewalks were partly bumpy and icy and partly slushy…so my big feet aimed at the slush and little stones mixed with salt on my way.  Waiting to cross the street was pretty dangerous…puddles, puddles and more puddles. And if anyone knows how Québécois folks drive here…well, it’s not fun for anyone.  I got splashed so much, my face got this huge mist!

I would love to send a note to a few newspapers reading: “Dear motorist, Kindly drive slower when you see pedestrians in your vision.  That would mean anywhere that is NOT a highway. Why? well, gee, I dunno. If you see water spraying up on your side windows, just imagine that water is spraying all around your vehicle too! So yeah, that would be ME who got a little shower crossing  boulevard Pelletier the other day.  What’s the rush anyway?  You had to stop at the red light a few feet away anyway!”

Walking across the Mall parking lot, it got trickier.  I had to choose between huge puddles and ice…puddles had to do.  By the time I got across the lot, I had a shortcut to climb but guess what? The wind and temperature dropping had hardened my pathway and it got pretty icy…had to give it a few tries, hold on to the side of the building and tread ever so cautiously…yeah, I looked like I was 90+ but made it upright at least.

The wind was so strong!  I mean, I’m not a little person. I am also very tall and the wind kept pushing me off the sidewalk! Boy that’s pretty darn windy.  The walk in Montreal was better however once I got out of the Metro.  The streets were mostly all concrete and tiny stones. I could not get over all the snow from my last pics had melted! It is NOT going to be pretty tonight though as temperatures are dropping about 35 degrees.  As soon as I got in, I asked my supervisor to drive me to the Metro at least. I sure would love it if she drove me home since she lives so close but hey, I’ll take what I can get.  If it’s too slippery at the bus stop, I’ll just hail a taxi. Tomorrow is an early day for me with interviews starting at 8am via Skype…that means I have to put my face on before the call.  Face, meaning makeup so as not to scare the students…tomorrow is another day.

© Oliana, Whispering Insights, January 6, 2014

